Displaying items by tag: the night brother - Rosie Garland
Rebel Dykes & For Books’ Sake at Wonder Women Festival

HOME
2 Tony Wilson Place,
Manchester, M15 4FN
12th March 2017

4:00-6.00pm
From £4

Created by a Manchester-based queer film crew, Rebel Dykes tells the story of a bunch of kick-ass women from London in the post-punk 1980s. The Rebel Dykes challenged norms ahead of the international riot grrrl movement, and the film features women’s punk music, animation, archive material and recreated footage. This queer-punk documentary is in post-production, and HOME will screen the work-in-progress cut which sold-out at BFI Flare in March 2016.
This will be followed by a showcase of incendiary poetry and performance put together by For Books’ Sake, featuring blisteringly bold and brilliant queer women writers from across the UK. Expect exciting, powerful spoken word that celebrates sexuality, rebellion and revolution, featuring Majikle, author of Margaret Thatcher Made Me an SM Dyke; internationally renowned poet, playwright and educator Sophia Walker, author of Opposite the Tourbus (Burning Eye Books); and Manchester literary luminary and dark fiction darling Rosie Garland, author of numerous poetry collections and novels The Palace of Curiosities, Vixen and The Night Brother (forthcoming from Borough Press), compered by For Books’ Sake founder Jane Bradley.

Curated by Instigate Arts
Collection in aid of MASH, Manchester Action on Street Health

http://forbookssake.net/events/event/rebel-dykes-wonder-women-manchester/

https://www.creativetourist.com/event/rebel-dykes/

Published in Gig List
‘For Books’ Sake’ most hotly anticipated books of 2017

Wow – how fantastic. The lovely people at For Books’ Sake have named ‘The Night Brother’ as one of their most hotly anticipated books of 2017!

Listen to the full podcast here – I’m mentioned around the 7min 30seconds mark.

http://forbookssake.podbean.com/e/101-most-anticipated-books-of-2017/

“The For Books' Sake podcast returns! Hosted by Jane Bradley and Paul Forster with correspondent Rebecca Smith, this fortnight you can hear Jane and Paul discuss their most anticipated books of 2017, including...

Defender by G. X. Todd (January, Headline); Not Just Jane by Shelley DeWees (January, HarperCollins); A Beginner's Guide to Losing Your Mind by Emily Reynolds (February, Hodder Stoughton); Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls (March, Timbuktu Labs); Come Let Us Sing Anyway by Leone Ross (March, Peepal Tree Press); The Night Brother by Rosie Garland (June, Borough Press).

Until next time: get in touch via Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or email to tell us which books you're most excited about in 2017!
Editing by Rebecca Smith // Music by She Makes War”

Published in News
Sunday, 20 November 2016 10:57

18.11.2016 - Interview in Ink Pantry

Many thanks to Deborah Edgeley at Ink Pantry for kindly interviewing me about writing and researching my novels, singing in The March Violets, my passion for great book covers… And how I’d change the world! No pressure, eh?

You can read the text of the interview here –
http://www.inkpantry.com/inky-interview-special-rosie-garland/

Published in News
Thursday, 20 March 2014 11:01

The Night Brother - hardback out now

The Night Brother – hardback out now. Paperback coming 3rd May 2018!

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. The Night Brother shifts tantalisingly between day and night, exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters, Erin Morgenstern.
Praise from Stella Duffy - "A tumble of poetry, desire and passion... intriguing and delicious."

Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day. She wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, and confused at living a half-life.
Reaching the cusp of adulthood, Edie’s confusion turns to resentment and she is determined to distance herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?
Exploring the furthest limits of sexual and gender fluidity, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

The first reviews have come in for ‘The Night Brother’ – and they’re good. Wow!

"Echoes of Angela Carter's more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exhuberant tale... Garland's narrative is enjoyably energetic." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times 18.6.2017

"A rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exhuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style.' - Toni Senior, The Times 3.6.2017

Thank you to Happy Meerkat and Little Bookness Lane for loving my words.

“Once again I find myself lost in the reverie of Rosie Garland’s exquisite writing. Extraordinarily enchanting, The Night Brother’s emotional bounty caresses each page… Embracing the intimacies and complexities of the heart and soul, The Night Brother doesn’t feel like a story, but a delectable gift. All that remains is for me to offer a thunderous round of applause for what is simply an expressive, breath-taking wonder.”
Little Bookness Lane – read the full text here
https://littlebooknesslane.wordpress.com/2017/05/25/book-review-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland/

“The Night Brother is a wonderful historical fiction novel with an amazing and intriguing twist… From the moment I read the first page I was hooked… A real exciting and also thought-provoking page-turner that I can really recommend.”
Happy Meerkat – read the full text here
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1888724819

Published in Fiction
Page 4 of 4

News and Events