Displaying items by tag: rosie garland - Rosie Garland
Polari with The Time-Travelling Suffragettes!

Stein Bier Keller
Morley St,
Bradford BD7 1AJ

Friday, 7th July 2017
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Polari: The LGBT Literary Salon
Paul Burston with VG Lee, Kirsty Logan, The Time-Travelling Suffragettes and David McAlmont

Polari founder and your host for the evening, Paul Burston, will introduce acclaimed vocalist and songwriter, David McAlmont; novelist, poet and performer, Kirsty Logan; writer, singer and post-punk poet, Rosie Garland, accompanied by Eilish McEvil and award-winning author and stand-up comedian, VG Lee, for a night of thought-provoking discussion and outrageous entertainment.

https://www.bradfordlitfest.co.uk/event/polari/

Published in Gig List
Friday, 09 June 2017 11:48

28.6.2017 - Bad Language, Manchester

Bad Language - farewell to The Castle

The Castle pub,
Oldham Street,
Manchester.
Free admission.

Wednesday 28 June 2017, 7.30pm

On Wednesday 28 June, we hold our last regular event at The Castle. Come and celebrate literature, laughter and lashings of booze with a special Bad Language featuring guest readers that have helped make The Castle our home over the past six and a half years.
Bad Language began in November 2010 with a couple of tentative discussion events followed by an anthology launch and a literary pub quiz. The first monthly Bad Language event at The Castle was on 26 January 2011.
This month, we put our open mic on hold as we invite some of our favourite readers – incl Rosie Garland - to see off The Castle in style. Bring balloons, bring cake, bring a little pedalo for Joe. Then on 26 July 2017, we relaunch Bad Language at Gullivers, with the next open mic spots available from 10 July.
Come and say goodbye to an amazing venue space – and thanks to The Castle staff for oiling the wheels of live literature for so many years.

Published in Gig List
Friday, 09 June 2017 11:39

27.6.2017 - WordFest, Trafford

Wordfest 2017

An evening with Rosie Garland
Stretford Library,
Bennett Street
Stretford
M32 8AP
Tuesday 27 June, 7.30pm

Free event – All are welcome to come to the events but booking is recommended.
Join us for an evening with author Rosie Garland as she talks about her new novel, The Night Brother.

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. Set in late-nineteenth century Manchester, The Night Brother tells the story of twins, Edie and Gnome, who share a body. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, Gnome revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day.

The Night Brother is a tale of suffrage, gender equality and fluidity and also a brilliant and evocative depiction of Victorian Manchester.

This is a free Wordfest event. Book online at https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/rosie-garland-tickets-32782078078?utm_term=eventurl_text

phone 0161 912 3189 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

http://www.trafford.gov.uk/residents/leisure-and-lifestyle/libraries/wordfest-events.aspx

Published in Gig List

Absolutely delighted – ‘The Night Brother’ has received good reviews in both The Times and The Sunday Times!

“The Night Brother by Rosie Garland is a rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester… Garland’s prose is a delight: playful and exuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style”.

Toni Senior 3rd June 2017
Full review here:
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/historical-fiction-w09l76frb

“Echoes of Angela Carter’s more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exuberant tale… Garland’s narrative is enjoyably energetic.”
Nick Rennison 18th June 2017

Full review here:
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/books-fiction-at-a-glance-all-the-good-things-by-clare-fisher-the-answers-by-catherine-lacey-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland-splash-by-stephen-glover-the-idiot-by-elif-batuman-gkbbb3852

 

 

Published in News
The Night Brother – publication day 1st June 2017

Heartfelt thanks to everyone who packed out Waterstones, Deansgate, Manchester for the sold-out launch of ‘The Night Brother’!
It was a wonderful evening for my new novel, dedicated:

‘To Manchester
and all the wanderers
who have found a home in this Rainy City’

You can order it here…
https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-night-brother/rosie-garland/9780008166106

Published in News
Thursday, 27 April 2017 12:03

21.6.2017 - Waterstones, Newcastle

Waterstones Newcastle
Emerson Chambers,
Blackett Street,
Newcastle, NE1 7JF

Tickets are £3, available in store or online.

The Night Brother
We are thrilled to welcome Rosie Garland in conversation with Kaite Walsh to discuss her new book, 'The Night Brother'.

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern.
Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours.

With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

We look forward to seeing you there.

https://www.waterstones.com/events/rose-garland-and-katie-walsh/newcastle
Situated in a beautiful building opposite Grey's Monument, designed by celebrated architect Benjamin Simpson, the booksellers of Emerson Chambers love nothing more than to share their love of reading with our customers.

Published in Gig List
Thursday, 27 April 2017 11:51

16-18.6.2017 - Grrrl Con, Manchester

Grrrl Con 2017

Fri 16th, Sat 17th and Sun 18th June 2017
presented by For Books’ Sake and Write Like a Grrrl

Date: Friday 16th, Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th June 2017
Venue: We will be using two venues in the city centre of Manchester: Mad Lab and Ziferblat. We’ll send more details about which events are at which venues to our attendees in due course.
Timings: Arrival from 9.30am for a 10am start on each day. Friday and Saturday will finish by 6pm, Sunday by 4.30pm.

Over three days, we’ll champion writing by women and celebrate the women writers we love with a diverse, amazing programme of practical talks, workshops and advice.
Aimed at emerging women writers of all levels, Grrrl Con – presented by Write Like a Grrrl and For Books’ Sake – will provide attendees with the opportunity to connect and collaborate with a nationwide community, while delivering all the essential tools, insight and inspiration to revolutionise your writing craft and confidence.

THE PROGRAMME
Grrrl Con will combine exciting, inspirational talks from established women writers and literary influencers with practical, interactive workshops aimed at equipping attendees with new tools, insights and approaches.
Each day will feature talks from the UK’s most innovative and original women writers, along with a range of workshops, with attendees able to tailor their individual itineraries to best suit their own personal writing aims and ambitions. There will be optional evening activities throughout the weekend.
INCLUDING
Practical interactive workshop from…
Rosie Garland: “One of the country’s finest performance poets” (Apples & Snakes), and the author of three novels (The Palace of Curiosities, 2013; Vixen, 2014; and The Night Brother, forthcoming in 2017), and six solo poetry collections. She has has received the DaDa Award for Performance Artist of the Year, the Diva Award for Solo Performer, and a Poetry Award from the People’s Café, New York.

http://grrrlcon.com/

Cost: A weekend ticket costs £120. There’s also an option to sponsor a place for a grrrl who would otherwise be unable to attend.
For Books’ Sake and Write Like a Grrrl operate on a non-profit basis, and all revenue from ticket sales will be used to bring you the best speakers and workshop facilitators in the UK.
Your ticket fees will go directly to covering costs and ensuring fair payment for the women writers involved, ensuring the programme for the weekender is as powerful, practical and inspirational as possible.

Published in Gig List
Thursday, 27 April 2017 11:44

14.6.2017 - INCITE, London

INCITE POETRY

Venue: Phoenix Arts Club,
1 Phoenix St,
London WC2H 8BU
Date: Wed 14th June at 7pm – 9.30pm

Special guests – Rosie Garland with her new collection 'As In Judy'
Hosted by Trudy Howson

The evening features performance poets, or guests, plus an open mic hour. It is completely fabulous and free!

The first part is normally the performance part and the second half -after an interval – is for you. Throughout the night you can add your name to our Open Mic list and look forward to your slot of poetry. Anything goes! You may be seasoned, it may be your first time or you may want to try something out.

For further information see Facebook Incite Poetry

It starts at 7pm and usually goes on untill 9:30pm with free jazz performances for attendees afterwards.

http://camdenlgbtforum.org.uk/events-2/incite/

Published in Gig List
Thursday, 27 April 2017 11:40

6.6.2017 - Kibworth BookFest, Leics

Kibworth BookFest - The Night Brother

6th June, 7pm

The Bookshop Kibworth,
52 High Street
Kibworth Beauchamp
Leicestershire
LE8 0HQ
0116 2791121
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Kibworth BookFest are delighted to welcome Rosie Garland!
Celebrate the launch of Rosie's new book ‘The Night Brother’ with a champagne reception and readings from the book by Rosie. The ticket price (£5) is redeemable against the book (£16.99) and copies of "The Palace of Curiosities" and "Vixen" will be on special offer.

http://www.thebookshopkibworth.com/kibworth-bookfest/4572749356

Published in Gig List
An Evening with Rosie Garland

Waterstones
91 Deansgate,
Manchester, M3 2BW
Wednesday 31st May 18:30

Waterstones Deansgate is thrilled to welcome Rosie Garland to the store for the launch of her new novel, 'The Night Brother'. Join us on Wednesday 31st May at 6:30pm to hear Rosie discuss her fantastic third novel, before answering questions from the audience and signing copies of her books.

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern. Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours.
With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Tickets are £5/3 and available online and in store.
https://www.waterstones.com/events/an-evening-with-rosie-garland/manchester-deansgate
For more information, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or tweet us @waterstonesmcr
We look forward to seeing you there.

Published in Gig List

News and Events