Displaying items by tag: lgbt

ELOP, winner of the Stonewall Community Group of the Year Award 2012,

will be hosting a fantastic fundraising evening of fine comedy, great entertainment and LGBT celebration.

Award-winning stand-up British comedian Shazia Mirza will be compering and opening up the night of entertainment with side-splitting performance, including Rosie Lugosi, Jen Brister and Mo Younger. All of this while guests enjoy free alcoholic & soft drinks & finger-food sharing plates at their tables.

Michael Cashman MEP is one of the other specially invited guests who will be making an appearance on the night. And to top it all off, there will be a wonderful Special CHARITY AUCTION with prizes!

All monies raised for the evening contribute to the delivery & expansion of ELOP front-line LGBT support services so if you are interested in joining ELOP for this fabulous night of comedy and entertainment, whilst supporting a very worthy cause, please book your tickets/tables now!

Price: £50 (minimum donation) per person, or reductions for whole table bookings for 10 people (subject to availability).

If you would like to attend or find out more about this event please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

or call 020 8509 3898

Venue: State Street Bank,
20 Churchill Place
Canary Wharf,
London E14 5HJ

Time: drinks reception from 6pm

Click here to go to ELOP main webpage

Published in Gig List
Wednesday, 15 January 2014 11:39

15.2.2014 - ALL OUT Radio show, ALLFM Manchester

ALL OUT Radio Show of the year on ALLFM

ALL OUT the LGBT radio show on ALLFM 96.9 AND ONLINE

11am – 1pm

Saturday 15th February - Guest Rosie Garland

South Manchester's leading community radio station broadcasting across South Manchester for over 10 years.

We're on air every other Saturday at 11am til 1pm.

We'll bring you guests and comment of interest to the LGBT community of Manchester, if you've got something of interest to our community please get in touch using the contact page. If you want to get involved we'd love to hear from you, this show is not about the presenters it's about the diverse community of Manchester.

Click here for ALL OUT webpage and to listen online

Published in Gig List
Wednesday, 15 January 2014 11:17

12.2.2014 - INCITE! Poetry night, London

Incite! Poetry has become the LGBT poetry event in London!

It meets on the second Wednesday of the month from now on. Trudy Howson (award winning poet and actor) is the new volunteer facilitator – why not come along to what has become a truly exciting poetry evening?

The Phoenix Artists Club
1 Phoenix Street
London WC2H 8BU

Free event

7.00pm – 9.30pm

The evening features performance poets, or guests, plus an open mic hour. It is completely fabulous and free!

The first part is normally the performance part and the second half -after an interval – is for Open Mic.

For further information see Facebook Incite Poetry

It starts at 7pm and usually goes on until 9:30pm with free jazz performances for attendees afterwards.

Click here for Camden LGBT Forum website

Published in Gig List
Thursday, 19 September 2013 11:08

13.11.2013 - Polari Literary Salon, South Bank London

Polari Literary Salon

Tickets - £5

13 November 2013, 7:45pm

Purcell Room,
Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road
London
SE1 8XX

Southbank Centre is a short walk away from Covent Garden and Westminster and minutes from the Waterloo, Charing Cross and Embankment London Underground and British Rail stations.

Charlotte Mendelson introduces her new novel Almost English. She is joined by poet Dean Atta, authors Rosie Garland and Patrick Flanery, Helen Lederer and singer Dee Chanelle. Also tonight, we announce the winner of the Polari Prize.

Described by The New York Times as 'London's most theatrical salon', Polari returns for the autumn, showcasing the best in established, new and up-and-coming LGBT literary talent and performance.

'Always fun, always thought-provoking - a guaranteed good night out.' Sarah Waters

'Lively, funny and inspiring - a gay-themed salon of interest to anyone remotely interested in literature, whatever their sexual bent.' Patrick Gale

To go to Polari site - click this link

To go to Southbank Centre site & buy tickets - click this link

Published in Gig List
One World, One Heart, One Pride
Saturday 27 July 2013

Rosie Lugosi and Claire Mooney host Oldham's 9th Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Pride – One World, One Heart, One Pride.

Oldham is committed to stamping out homophobia, transphobia and biphobia.

After the fabulous parade there's a great Oldham Pride day lined up at Gallery Oldham – including headline acts X Factor's Kitty Brucknell and Britain's Got Talent's Showbears, some great live music, some dance, sporting and circus activities too - so come along and join in the fun.

Published in Gig List
Monday, 20 March 2017 11:01

The Night Brother

The Night Brother

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. The Night Brother shifts tantalisingly between day and night, exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters, Erin Morgenstern.
Praise from Stella Duffy - "A tumble of poetry, desire and passion... intriguing and delicious."

Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day. She wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, and confused at living a half-life.
Reaching the cusp of adulthood, Edie’s confusion turns to resentment and she is determined to distance herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?
Exploring the furthest limits of sexual and gender fluidity, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Available in all formats - hardback, paperback, audio, ebook.

The first reviews have come in for ‘The Night Brother’ – and they’re good. Wow!

"Echoes of Angela Carter's more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exhuberant tale... Garland's narrative is enjoyably energetic." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times 18.6.2017

"A rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exhuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style.' - Toni Senior, The Times 3.6.2017

Thank you to Happy Meerkat and Little Bookness Lane for loving my words.

“Once again I find myself lost in the reverie of Rosie Garland’s exquisite writing. Extraordinarily enchanting, The Night Brother’s emotional bounty caresses each page… Embracing the intimacies and complexities of the heart and soul, The Night Brother doesn’t feel like a story, but a delectable gift. All that remains is for me to offer a thunderous round of applause for what is simply an expressive, breath-taking wonder.”
Little Bookness Lane – read the full text here
https://littlebooknesslane.wordpress.com/2017/05/25/book-review-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland/

“The Night Brother is a wonderful historical fiction novel with an amazing and intriguing twist… From the moment I read the first page I was hooked… A real exciting and also thought-provoking page-turner that I can really recommend.”
Happy Meerkat – read the full text here
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1888724819

Published in Novels
Page 5 of 5

News and Events