11.2.2020: Live Literature, Bolton

Bolton Libraries & Museums Bolton Libraries & Museums
Live Literature

Bolton Central Library,
Le Mans Crescent, BL1 1SE

Tuesday 11th February: 6.30pm-8pm
Free event

The Night Brother: Rosie Garland reads from her prize-winning fiction, with an interview and Q&A

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern. A dazzling and provocative novel of adventure and belonging, The Night Brother lures us to the furthermost boundaries of sexual and gender identity. With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Rosie Garland writes long and short-form fiction, poetry and sings with post-punk band The March Violets. With a passion for language nurtured by libraries, she started out in spoken word, garnering praise from Apples and Snakes as ‘one of the country’s finest performance poets’. In 2011 she entered the inaugural Mslexia Novel Competition and won. This debut novel was published as The Palace of Curiosities (HarperCollins, 2013) and was nominated for both The Desmond Elliott and the Polari First Book Prize. Second novel, Vixen, was a Green Carnation Prize nominee. Third novel, The Night Brother is out now with Borough Press.

https://creativewritingattheuniversityofbolton.wordpress.com/2020/01/18/live-lit-returns-for-spring-2020/