Displaying items by tag: lgbt writing

An Evening with Rosie Garland

Waterstones
91 Deansgate,
Manchester, M3 2BW
Wednesday 31st May 18:30

Waterstones Deansgate is thrilled to welcome Rosie Garland to the store for the launch of her new novel, 'The Night Brother'. Join us on Wednesday 31st May at 6:30pm to hear Rosie discuss her fantastic third novel, before answering questions from the audience and signing copies of her books.

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern. Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours.
With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Tickets are £5/3 and available online and in store.
https://www.waterstones.com/events/an-evening-with-rosie-garland/manchester-deansgate
For more information, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or tweet us @waterstonesmcr
We look forward to seeing you there.

Published in Gig List
Wednesday, 25 January 2017 11:33

24.2.2017 - Feminist Library at Tate Modern

UNIQLO TATE LATE

Tate Modern
Bankside
London
SE1 9TG
Free entry
6pm-10pm

Experience the gallery after-hours with a mix of art, music, film and workshops
This month we celebrate women in art by taking inspiration from the pioneering contemporary female artists in our collection.

Pop-Up Feminist Library

Check in to the Feminist Library to explore Tate’s collection through readings with writers, zine making and a feminist photo booth. Featuring Rosie Garland! Curated by Caroline Smith - the Feminist Library’s inaugural Writer-in-Residence 2017.

Plus DJs, Visuals (Natalia Stuyk), Patches of Hope for 2017, Arcola 50+ and
Deep Throat Choir

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/late/uniqlo-tate-lates

Published in Gig List
Wednesday, 25 January 2017 11:23

22.2.2017 - Campus Pride, Leeds Beckett University

Campus Pride

Campus Pride rolls out across campus in February, with a special live literature event on Wednesday 22nd, featuring Rosie Garland!
Plus OPEN MIC.
Free event

Venue:
Stage 2
Leeds Beckett University Student Union
City Campus,
Portland Building,
Portland Way,
Leeds LS1 3HE

Time: 6.30pm for a 7pm start
Contact Details
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Published in Gig List
Monday, 03 October 2016 09:08

18.11.2016 - Polari on Tour, Blackpool

Polari On Tour

Grand Theatre, Blackpool
33 Church Street, FY1 1HT
Blackpool

20:00–22:30
Tickets £6

Part of this year's Polari National Tour, funded by Arts Council England
London's award winning LGBT literary salon Polari comes to The Grand as part of a national tour funded by Arts Council England.
Curated and hosted by author Paul Burston with guest performers representing the best in established and emerging LGBT literary talent, Polari has been described by Sarah Waters as "Always fun, always thought-provoking – a guaranteed good night out"
with readings from Rosie Garland, Jonathan Harvey, Karen Mcleod and more.

This event will be BSL interpreted

https://www.blackpoolgrand.co.uk/event/polari/

 

Published in Gig List
Friday, 19 February 2016 12:47

15.3.2016 - Bar Wotever, London

Royal Vauxhall Tavern
372 Kennington Lane, London SE11 5HY
United Kingdom

Rosie Garland / Rosie Lugosi is back!! We pledged her via March Violets Crowdfunding!
+
Jonathan Collins, Stand Up!

It will be a night celebrating everything Goth, Bi and Fabulous!!!
Bar Wotever Host in March: Dusty Limits

ROSIE GARLAND
Rosie Garland is an all-round cuckoo in the nest. Novelist, poet and singer in post-punk band The March Violets, she also appears in cabaret as twisted alter-ego Rosie Lugosi the Lesbian Vampire Queen. She has toured internationally, including the Edinburgh Fringe, Polari and Antwerp Queer Arts Festival. She's just returned from a tour of the USA. Her latest novel 'Vixen' was longlisted for the Green Carnation Prize 2014.
http://rosiegarland.com/

JONATHAN COLLINS
Jonathan Collins is a 20 year old Bisexual Transvestite Gothic Metalhead who engages in Polyamarous relationships; Already making him a rarity on the circuit. He has been described by promoters as "Metallica meets Monty Python" and "Leaving the men in the room questioning themselves and the women hating their legs." Topics of material include Gender & Sexuality, Getting out of fights by singing Queen songs, and questioning the norms of society.

http://woteverworld.com/events/

 

Published in Gig List
Friday, 05 June 2015 15:43

23.6.2015 - Polari at The South Bank

Polari

The Southbank Centre,
Belvedere Road,
London SE1 8XX

Time: 7.30 start
Level 5, Function Room

Tickets: £5 (concessions £2.50)

Rosie Garland heads the bill.
Plus Helen Humphries, SJ Naude, Carl Stanley and Talim Arab

Rosie Garland reads from her second novel, Vixen.
Described as poetic, sexy and deeply moving, Vixen finds a natural home with Polari audiences. It's a tale of superstition and devotion in the time of the Black Death.
Garland is joined by Helen Humphries, Talim Arab, Carl Stanley and SJ Naudé.

Polari is London's celebrated literary den showcasing new and established queer talent across literature and spoken word. Resident at Southbank Centre, the award-winning LGBT salon was described by the Huffington Post in 2014 as 'The most exciting literary movement in London... crackling with energy, ideas and excitement'.
Polari is curated and hosted by author and journalist Paul Burston and won 'LGBT Cultural Event of the Year' in the Co-op Respect 'Loved By You' Awards 2013.
Level 5 Function Room at Royal Festival Hall
Please note that Polari contains adult themes. For ages 18+
Book Tickets Now
http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/whatson/polari-230615-89943?dt=2015-06-23

Click to go to Polari website

PRAISE FOR POLARI

"The most exciting literary movement in London... crackling with energy, ideas, excitement" – Huffington Post

Winner 'LGBT Cultural Event of the Year' in the Co-operative Respect 'Loved by You' Awards 2013

Winner 'Golden Kitty Award' for 'Best UK Event (Local)' 2013

"Always fun, always thought-provoking – a guaranteed good night out" – Sarah Waters

 

Published in Gig List

WATERSTONES BRADFORD
Wednesday 4th March 2015
The Wool Exchange,
Hustlergate
Bradford BD1 1BL

Time: 5.30pm for 6pm start
Tickets: ring in advance or buy on the door. Coffee, cake & book purchase special deal available for £10

An Evening With Rosie Garland

Writer, performer and Waterstones favourite Rosie Garland joins us to celebrate the paperback release of her stunning second novel 'Vixen' by discussing the writing process and answering any questions you may have. We loved her debut 'The Palace of Curiosities' and Rosie has managed to follow it up with a novel that's equally strange and compelling.

Further details: 01274 723127

Published in Gig List
Tuesday, 27 January 2015 15:56

16.2.2015 - UoM LGBT History Month, Manchester

"History is a Work in Progress"
LGBT History Month in association with The University of Manchester

Date: Monday 16th Feb
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Trof (a dandyish den) at The Deaf Institute
The Basement
135 Grosvenor Street,
Manchester M1 7HE

Free event – turn up on the night.

Join Rosie Garland, Rod Tame, Steph Pike and Gerry Potter
As they take you on a historic LGBT journey through poetry!
Click to go to Deaf Institute website

Published in Gig List
Monday, 20 March 2017 11:01

The Night Brother

The Night Brother

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. The Night Brother shifts tantalisingly between day and night, exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters, Erin Morgenstern.
Praise from Stella Duffy - "A tumble of poetry, desire and passion... intriguing and delicious."

Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day. She wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, and confused at living a half-life.
Reaching the cusp of adulthood, Edie’s confusion turns to resentment and she is determined to distance herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?
Exploring the furthest limits of sexual and gender fluidity, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Available in all formats - hardback, paperback, audio, ebook.

The first reviews have come in for ‘The Night Brother’ – and they’re good. Wow!

"Echoes of Angela Carter's more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exhuberant tale... Garland's narrative is enjoyably energetic." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times 18.6.2017

"A rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exhuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style.' - Toni Senior, The Times 3.6.2017

Thank you to Happy Meerkat and Little Bookness Lane for loving my words.

“Once again I find myself lost in the reverie of Rosie Garland’s exquisite writing. Extraordinarily enchanting, The Night Brother’s emotional bounty caresses each page… Embracing the intimacies and complexities of the heart and soul, The Night Brother doesn’t feel like a story, but a delectable gift. All that remains is for me to offer a thunderous round of applause for what is simply an expressive, breath-taking wonder.”
Little Bookness Lane – read the full text here
https://littlebooknesslane.wordpress.com/2017/05/25/book-review-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland/

“The Night Brother is a wonderful historical fiction novel with an amazing and intriguing twist… From the moment I read the first page I was hooked… A real exciting and also thought-provoking page-turner that I can really recommend.”
Happy Meerkat – read the full text here
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1888724819

Published in Novels
Page 3 of 3