Displaying items by tag: borough press

Gay’s The Word
66 Marchmont St,
Kings Cross,
London WC1N 1AB
7.00-9.00pm
A FREE event with complimentary refreshments!


The Night Brother
Gay’s the Word is delighted to host Rosie Garland for a sneak preview of her new novel, The Night Brother! Hear Rosie discuss her fantastic third novel, before answering questions from the audience and signing copies of her books.
Published by Borough Press on June 1st 2017.


From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a bold new novel exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we really know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters and Erin Morgenstern. Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city's streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair grow up, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, with only a dim memory of the dark hours.
With echoes of Orlando and Jekyll & Hyde, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.


http://www.gaystheword.co.uk/

Published in Gig List
Wednesday, 25 January 2017 11:33

24.2.2017 - Feminist Library at Tate Modern

UNIQLO TATE LATE

Tate Modern
Bankside
London
SE1 9TG
Free entry
6pm-10pm

Experience the gallery after-hours with a mix of art, music, film and workshops
This month we celebrate women in art by taking inspiration from the pioneering contemporary female artists in our collection.

Pop-Up Feminist Library

Check in to the Feminist Library to explore Tate’s collection through readings with writers, zine making and a feminist photo booth. Featuring Rosie Garland! Curated by Caroline Smith - the Feminist Library’s inaugural Writer-in-Residence 2017.

Plus DJs, Visuals (Natalia Stuyk), Patches of Hope for 2017, Arcola 50+ and
Deep Throat Choir

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/late/uniqlo-tate-lates

Published in Gig List
The Big Comfy Bookshop
Part of Coventry's FIRST Pride!

Time: 3-4pm
Saturday 27th June

Tickets: free! Turn up on the day.
Venue: The Big Comfy Bookshop
UNIT 2F, FARGO VILLAGE
FAR GOSFORD STREET
COVENTRY CV1 5EA

Join us for an afternoon with Rosie Garland!
She will be reading from Vixen and The Palace of Curiosities, talking about writing and answering questions. Taking place at the lovely Big Comfy Bookshop at Fargo Creative Village in Coventry.

Click to go to Fargo Village website

 

Published in Gig List
Friday, 05 June 2015 15:43

23.6.2015 - Polari at The South Bank

Polari

The Southbank Centre,
Belvedere Road,
London SE1 8XX

Time: 7.30 start
Level 5, Function Room

Tickets: £5 (concessions £2.50)

Rosie Garland heads the bill.
Plus Helen Humphries, SJ Naude, Carl Stanley and Talim Arab

Rosie Garland reads from her second novel, Vixen.
Described as poetic, sexy and deeply moving, Vixen finds a natural home with Polari audiences. It's a tale of superstition and devotion in the time of the Black Death.
Garland is joined by Helen Humphries, Talim Arab, Carl Stanley and SJ Naudé.

Polari is London's celebrated literary den showcasing new and established queer talent across literature and spoken word. Resident at Southbank Centre, the award-winning LGBT salon was described by the Huffington Post in 2014 as 'The most exciting literary movement in London... crackling with energy, ideas and excitement'.
Polari is curated and hosted by author and journalist Paul Burston and won 'LGBT Cultural Event of the Year' in the Co-op Respect 'Loved By You' Awards 2013.
Level 5 Function Room at Royal Festival Hall
Please note that Polari contains adult themes. For ages 18+
Book Tickets Now
http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk/whatson/polari-230615-89943?dt=2015-06-23

Click to go to Polari website

PRAISE FOR POLARI

"The most exciting literary movement in London... crackling with energy, ideas, excitement" – Huffington Post

Winner 'LGBT Cultural Event of the Year' in the Co-operative Respect 'Loved by You' Awards 2013

Winner 'Golden Kitty Award' for 'Best UK Event (Local)' 2013

"Always fun, always thought-provoking – a guaranteed good night out" – Sarah Waters

 

Published in Gig List
Saturday, 27 September 2014 15:06

Vixen

Rosie Garland's extraordinary tale is a story of superstition and devotion in the time of the Black Death and will bewitch both new readers and fans of her much-loved debut, The Palace of Curiosities. It was nominated for the Green Carnation Prize, 2014.

'Vixen' is a fine example of how to marry a stunning cover to a book's contents. The cover features original artwork by Lindsay Carr http://www.littlerobot.org.uk/ and was designed by Alexandra Allden at Borough Press.

About the novel - Vixen

Devon, 1349. In Brauntone, where seagulls screech across the fields and the wind has a mind to change, Father Thomas arrives as the new priest. Determined to impress his congregation, he quells fears of the coming pestilence with promises of protection.
For Anne, the priest's arrival is an opportunity that at sixteen, she feels all too ready for. Convinced a grand fate awaits, she moves in as Thomas's housekeeper, though hopeful of something more. But his home is a place without love or kindness. So when a strange, mute Maid is discovered, washed up in the marshes, and taken in, Anne is grateful for the company. Their friendship is to give Anne the chance of a happiness she thought she'd never know.
But soon the plague strikes Brauntone, spreading panic. And as the villagers' fear turns to anger, Thomas must sacrifice anything to restore their faith in him.


Reviews

A great review in Diva magazine (August 2014)
"Poetic, surprising and ultimately deeply moving, Vixen will have you hooked faster than it takes to drink a jug of ale and - unlike ale - it will stay with you long after you've reached the final page."

Praise for The Palace of Curiosities:
'Garland's lush prose is always a pleasure' - The Guardian
'An alternately brutal and beautiful story about love and belonging in a vividly conveyed underworld, rich in carny phantasmagoria and lyrical romance' METRO
'Bewitching' Good Housekeeping
'A jewel-box of a novel ... Garland is a real literary talent: definitely an author to watch' Sarah Waters
'Reminds me of Angela Carter' Jenni Murray
"Fabulously strange historical debut... a romp filled with sheer, demented fun." Suzi Feay

Link to order Vixen -
https://www.harpercollins.co.uk/9780007492800/vixen

Published in Novels
Monday, 20 March 2017 11:01

The Night Brother

The Night Brother

From the author of The Palace of Curiosities and Vixen comes a dazzling and provocative new novel of adventure, mystery and belonging. The Night Brother shifts tantalisingly between day and night, exploring questions of identity, sexual equality and how well we know ourselves. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Waters, Erin Morgenstern.
Praise from Stella Duffy - "A tumble of poetry, desire and passion... intriguing and delicious."

Rich are the delights of late nineteenth-century Manchester for young siblings Edie and Gnome. They bicker, banter, shout and scream their way through the city’s streets, embracing its charms and dangers. But as the pair mature, it is Gnome who revels in the night-time, while Edie is confined to the day. She wakes exhausted each morning, unable to quell a sickening sense of unease, and confused at living a half-life.
Reaching the cusp of adulthood, Edie’s confusion turns to resentment and she is determined to distance herself from Gnome once and for all. But can she ever be free from someone who knows her better than she knows herself?
Exploring the furthest limits of sexual and gender fluidity, this is a story about the vital importance of being honest with yourself. Every part of yourself. After all, no-one likes to be kept in the dark.

Available in all formats - hardback, paperback, audio, ebook.

The first reviews have come in for ‘The Night Brother’ – and they’re good. Wow!

"Echoes of Angela Carter's more fantastical fiction reverberate through this exhuberant tale... Garland's narrative is enjoyably energetic." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times 18.6.2017

"A rich and ambitious tale set in late Victorian Manchester... Garland's prose is a delight: playful and exhuberant. There are shades of Angela Carter in the mad world she creates... Full marks for style.' - Toni Senior, The Times 3.6.2017

Thank you to Happy Meerkat and Little Bookness Lane for loving my words.

“Once again I find myself lost in the reverie of Rosie Garland’s exquisite writing. Extraordinarily enchanting, The Night Brother’s emotional bounty caresses each page… Embracing the intimacies and complexities of the heart and soul, The Night Brother doesn’t feel like a story, but a delectable gift. All that remains is for me to offer a thunderous round of applause for what is simply an expressive, breath-taking wonder.”
Little Bookness Lane – read the full text here
https://littlebooknesslane.wordpress.com/2017/05/25/book-review-the-night-brother-by-rosie-garland/

“The Night Brother is a wonderful historical fiction novel with an amazing and intriguing twist… From the moment I read the first page I was hooked… A real exciting and also thought-provoking page-turner that I can really recommend.”
Happy Meerkat – read the full text here
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1888724819

Published in Novels
Page 3 of 3